RSS

THE BUS BLOG RULES

27 Sep

So here are the rules for the Bus Blog

1).  The dates of the challenge will run from October 1st to October 31st.

2).  I may use any form of public transportation or any means of self propelled transportation (i.e. walking, biking, etc…)

3).  I may not drive a car (or anything that is not self propelled) except for health or family emergencies. Although it’s not public transportation, taking a cab will be allowed, seeing how it is and alternative transportation method for those who do not have their own cars and so will be included in the experiment.

4).  I may not have anyone drive me to my destination unless I am riding with someone who is going to the same event or destination as I am. But even this will be avoided.

5).  Finally, a lot of people have asked, but no, my wife Nicole will not have to give up her car too! I will be running any of the errands necessary for both of us like grocery shopping or similar  but if she needs to drive somewhere for a task for her soul benefit its fine.

Some of the tasks I will accomplish include…

  • Grocery shopping, banking, and similar everyday errands.
  • Commute to work, (However I usually walk already. It’s only 4 blocks away).
  • Explore Little Rock’s amenities (Parks, Museums, Attractions…).
  • Visit my parents in west Little Rock.
  • Go to a movie.
  • Go on a date.
  • Go to church, (A church downtown and my home church of Oak Forest UMC in mid town).
  • Go to a concert.
  • Go to kickball.
  • Kayak to somewhere, (Not sure how this one is going to work just yet).
  • Go to my 10 year High School Reunion, (I’m sure this should be interesting).
  • Travel via the Trolley.
  • Travel to the Airport.
  • Travel via Greyhound somewhere, (Probably Hot Springs).
  • Travel via Amtrak to St Louis for a weekend.

I will also set up some interviews with someone from CAT Transit, Metroplan, and the biking community and maybe some others.

Finally, some of the thing I will be documenting will be…

  •   Bus routes, times and trip duration.
  •   Biking and walking routes.
  •   Travel costs as compared to driving expenses.
  •   Travel duration times as compared to driving times.
  •   Health effects.
  •   Benefits and shortcomings.

It should make for an interesting, (and maybe entertaining) month!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2011 in Bus Blog

 

3 responses to “THE BUS BLOG RULES

  1. Rachel

    September 27, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    I can’t wait to see how this goes!

     
  2. bronzegears

    October 1, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    I know you’ve been wanting to do this for a while! I’m excited to see how this goes!

     
  3. Shannon S

    October 3, 2011 at 8:33 am

    Way to go Mason. I lived without a car for over a year and it worked out OK for me. The bike racks on the CATA busses are invaluable. When you take your bike to the grocery store remember not to buy more stuff than will fit in your backpack and saddlebags.

    I ran across a website called http://www.bikerafting.com that may get you pointed toward some clues for doing your kayak trip.

    Amtrak sucks balls. We took the train to Chicago last summer and the trip up was 17 hours long. Did I mention it sucked balls? It did. St. Louis might actually be a decent trip on Amtrak though, since you get there in a reasonable amount of time.

    Greyhound sucks a region worse than balls. Best to keep that a short trip.

    Good luck and have fun!

     

Leave a Reply

 
