RSS

LITTLE ROCK RUINS

20 Feb

Ruins in the Jungle

One of my first blog posts was about “My Backyard” along the river behind my place. A section of the River Trail crosses back there, though it is currently closed until the city can build a bridge to get over the railroad tracks at the far west end. But I wrote the entry and took the pictures in August when the area was heavily overgrown. I showed some pictures of old home foundations and an old brick wall, the history of which, I wasn’t sure. Saturday afternoon I revisited the old brick ruins and began to clear away the vines and brush that had slowly overtook the remains. I felt like Indiana Jones, uncovering some Ancient Aztec temple! It was pretty cool. But here are some better photos of the ruins.

Not going to stick my hand in there to find out whats there.

The pile of cleared away brush

Old Streecar Rails

I had noticed this structure in an old bird’s eye map of Little Rock from 1887 that I have. It showed a small brick factory of sorts. A friend later told me this was the remains of the old Little Rock Streetcar Power Plant. There are still a few places along North Street, above on the hill, where you can see old rails exposed in the asphalt streets where a streetcar line used to run. There are also quite a few old rails that are scattered about the power plant site below. Some of them are covered in concrete which leads me to believe they were in fact old streetcar rails that were once embedded in concrete in the streets rather than freight rails that were discarded alongside the old rail line that runs adjacent to the site. Just goes to show you never know what you can find!

Close up showing the old railroad grade that ran along side the river and the old brick building to the right.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in Little Rock

 

2 responses to “LITTLE ROCK RUINS

  1. aldasmagnoliahill

    February 21, 2012 at 11:39 am

    Sounds like you need to join the Pulaski County Historical Society ! This would make a nice program to share. here is the web site: http://www.pulaskicountyarkhistory.org/

     
  2. JohnnieC

    February 21, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    Awesome! I hope you didn’t get poison ivy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
